Inspired by Toy Story, Nutcracker or Sorcerer's Apprentice, robots come alive at night in this musical theater.

In the first scene, "robots" enter the lives of humans. At the beginning, the humans still believe they can interact, even control, but become remote-controlled robots themselves.

The composer Christian Klinkenberg resorts to musical symbols and quotations in the various transitions for unification. Well-known works are integrated into the overall composition:

- "The Child and the Magic Haunting" by Maurice Ravel.

- "The Shrovetide Fair" from Petrushka by Igor Stravinsky

- "Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy " from Nutcracker by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

- The Sorcerer's Apprentice" from Paul Dukas

"Autoconductor" is the software that streams the score for the musicians, control commands for the robots and a video for the audience. This software was developed in cooperation of the programmer Lothar Felten and the composer Christian Klinkenberg.

This project is a collaboration LOGOS, the world's largest robot orchestra in Ghent and KL-EX.

The following 6 music robots are part of the piece together with the musicians Dominica Eyckmans (viola) and Paul Pankert (violin):

  • Per: percussion robot

  • Horny: Self-playing horn

  • Spiro: Automatic spinet

  • HybrHi: Automatic whistle instrument

  • Psch: Automatic percussion instrument

  • Korn: Self-playing cornet